Tom and Trish May host the Compass
Tom and Trish May of 677 Longwoods Road Newbury gladly offered their historical barn to showcase the Compass barn quilt block. The silver colour of their barn siding and the modern paint colour choices highlight this barn quilt block on the Wardsville barn quilt trail.
Travelling through the dense Carolinian Forest in 1810, following dirt paths and deer trails, adventurers used the compass to navigate.
Compass as a Navigational Aid
The first person recorded to have used the compass was Zheng He (1371-1435) from the Yunnan province in China.
Navigation through this area was challenging. The trees of Longwood’s were large and old. The forest was dense with thick-branched trees. Trees rose one hundred feet to block out the sun during daylight hours so travellers had to have a good sense of direction.
George Ward and fellow settlers could ‘blaze a trail’, making hatchet marks on the trees along the path they travelled. To find their way back, they simply followed the marked trees.